During our opening ceremonies for Filipino American History month, we take the time to acknowledge and honor community members for their efforts to better New York’s Filipino Community.

Out lifetime achievement award is given to an individual who has, over the course of their life made a significant impact on New York’s Filipino American community. We also give the “Bayani” award, which is in recognition of heroic deeds of a community member(s) in service to support our community during times of crisis or uncertainty.

Our annual awards are given to a community member for their contributions to bettering, empowering and promoting the Filipino American community of New York (Contributions to Excellence). We award a community member the Outstanding Artist award for significant strides in their crafts (e.g., performing arts, literature, design, film, etc.) And we also especially honor an young person (under 25 years old) who has taken roles of leadership and has empowered their generation.

Awardees are considered by community nomination and are then reviewed by FANHS MNY Board of Directors, and then scored as dictated by scoring rubric. Requirements for nominees is that they be a resident of the Metropolitan New York area, and have displayed a commitment to preserving, sharing and educating Filipino American History.

Please feel free to click to enlarge any gallery of our past awardees below.

2018 Awardees

Lifetime Achievement: Amy Besa
Contributions to Excellence: Steven Raga
Outstanding Artist: Ali Ewoldt
Outstanding Youth: Michelle Amor

2017 Awardees

Lifetime Achievement: Therese Rodriguez
Contributions to Excellence: Maria Cruz
Outstanding Artist: Jaygee Macapugay
Outstanding Youth: Christine Sicwaten

 2016 Awardees
Lifetime Achievement: Ralph Peña
Bayani Award: Geena Rocero
Contributions to Excellence: Ernabel Demillo
Outstanding Artist: Jose Llana
Outstanding Youth: Terrence Rienton

2015 Awardees

Lifetime Achievement: Jessica Hagedorn
Bayani Award: Kalaya’an Mendoza
Contributions to Excellence: Monette Rivera
Outstanding Artist: Joseph Legaspi
Outstanding Youth: Oliver Sawi

2014 Awardees

Lifetime Achievement: Bing Magtoto
Bayani Award: Nicole Ponseca, Monette Rivera, Liz Casasola, Cat Sandoval, RJ Nadal
Contributions to Excellence: Momar Visaya
Outstanding Artist: Marissa Aroy
Outstanding Youth: Kristina Rudolfo

2013 Awardees

Lifetime Achievement: Professor Luis Francia
Bayani Award: Menchu Sanchez
Contributions to Excellence: Larry Tantay
Outstanding Artist: Liz Casasola & Air Tabigue
Outstanding Youth: Marc Andre Densing

2012 Awardees

Lifetime Achievement: Joe Bataan
Contributions to Excellence: Rhodora Ursua, MPH & Rio Guerrero, Esq.
Outstanding Artist: Kilusan Bautista & Randy Gener
Outstanding Youth: Alex Adapon & Jackelyn Mariano

2011 Awardees

Contributions to Excellence: Venessa Manzano
Outstanding Artist: Ryan “Hydroponikz” Abugan & Dennis Sy
Outstanding Youth: Kirklyn Escondo

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s